Newbie Questions

For the gearheads in the audience
cincydom
Newbie Questions

Post by cincydom »

Okay, so I'm going to apologize right off. I'm new to this and I have a few very newbie questions. I'm thinking about getting a Jail Bird cage from MM, but I have some questions first. Here goes:

1. Is there an advantage to a single or double base ring?

2. Which cage/ring gap should I choose? I'm thinking about just splitting the difference with a 3/8" gap, but I was wondering if there was something I should be considering that I'm not.

3. MM has the ability to add an extra ring on the cage for certain sizes. In my mind another ring seems like it would make it feel more "secure", but might make it hard to tease through the cage. Does anyone have any experience with that?

4. Finally, a security screw seems like it would make the device less bulky and and a little sleeker, but how secure is the security screw?

Sorry for all the questions, but I really appreciate all the help! I'll take any help or suggestions anyone has to offer :)
0 x
Locked by LRC

Re: Newbie Questions

Post by Locked by LRC »

Glad to hear you've decided to give this a try. First something to consider.

Going straight to a custom device may not be the best idea. The gap, base ring size, tube length, and tube diameter need to be accurate for a comfortable, secure fit. Custom devices are expensive and usually cheap devices are better for testing. Some modifications can be done on a custom device but add to the expense. With that said, on to your questions.

1. This is a personal preference, some like double, some like singles. I think if you're "high and tight" a single ring would be best. Low hangers may benefit from a double ring.

2. Most go with a 3/8" gap as a start. You may need more or less.

3. Extra rings depend on what you and the keyholder want. Some like to tease through the bars others want to restrict access.